How Many Letters Are in the English Alphabet?

Home » Listening » How Many Letters Are in the English Alphabet?

An alphabet is a set of symbols we use to represent speech in writing. Those symbols are called letters. The modern English alphabet is Latin. It consists of 26 letters.

Letters of English Alphabet

These letters can be written in

  • capital


  • small.

We shall see both one by one.

Capital Letters in Alphabet

AlphabetFirst, we shall see how we can write capital letters.

Have a look-

Click the audio button to listen.

  • A, B, C, D, E, F, G,
  • H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P,
  • Q, R, S, T, U, V, W,
  • X, Y, Z

Small letters

We can write these in small letters also.

Have a look-

  • a, b, c, d, e, f, g,
  • h, i, j, k, l, m, n, o, p,
  • q, r, s, t, u, v, w,
  • x, y,  z.

Capital Letters and their Corresponding Small Letters

We know that we can write each letter of the English alphabet in the capital as well as a small letter. Below, you can see the alphabet in the capital and small letters.

Have a look-

These 26 capital letters and their corresponding small letters are:

  1. A a
  2. B b
  3. C c
  4. D d
  5. E e
  6. F f
  7. G g
  8. H h
  9. I i
  10. J j
  11. K k
  12. L l
  13. M m
  14. N n
  15. O o
  16. P p
  17. Q q
  18. R r
  19. S s
  20. T t
  21. U u
  22. V v
  23. W w
  24. X x
  25. Y y
  26. Z z

Sometimes, we call capital letters upper case and small letters lower case.

Related Lessons-

  1. Use of letters
  2. Persons
  3. Gender
  4. Number

All Lessons of Listening Grammar


Hi, I am Madhuri Kherde, an educationist, ex-principal of a secondary school in Mumbai, and founder of I have been teaching English and Mathematics for the last thirty-four years. I like to share my knowledge and experience with others. So I hope you enjoy my posts on this website.